The architect Wallace K. Harrison in the early 1930s purchased land to design a house for his wife and himself. The Harrison Estate, listed on the National Register of Historic Places, represents the leading edge of the International Style. It has now undergone a complete restoration and expansion that honors Harrison's original design intent while satisfying the needs of a 21st century family. The Harrison house was not only a place for architectural exploration, but a home for artists. In 1942, Fernand Leger came to the house and painted a canvas for the round living room which inspired a new steel sculpture for this location. Existing and restored is the only remaining Leger artwork, a skylight located at the new dining room. Others at the house were Alexander Calder, Marc Chagall, Mary Callery, Robert Moses, and Le Corbusier. A Mary Callery sculpture is found on the Living room wall adjacent the restored steel windows. In order to update the use as a full time family home, an expansion doubling the size of the original structure was designed by the architects. The architects considered every detail so that the spirit of the house, even in areas that were completely redesigned, remains true to the original. The Harrison Estate has an important place in our country's architectural history, providing a fascinating case study in how European Modernism came to the United States through Long Island as a gateway. The restoration and addition shows how contemporary residents are preserving a piece of history while living very much in the present.